October 14, 2014

Call for Young European of the Year 2015

Two months before the prize ceremony for the Young European of the year 2014, we now call for nominations for the prize of the Young European of the Year 2015. This prize is handed out by the Schwarzkopf Stiftung Junges Europa, the international umbrella organisation of the EYP.

We are looking for young people from Europe between the ages of 18 and 26. She or he should have worked in an honorary capacity towards the understanding between peoples and/or European integration and in the process have achieved exemplary success: Young people who have learned to act with initiative, personal commitment and a sense of responsibility, thus showing they are prepared to grasp the opportunities of our time in forging peaceful coexistence in a Europe of diversity. We are not looking for young people with fully-fledged careers. Each year with this prize the Schwarzkopf Foundation Young Europe wishes to reward a young European for his/her outstanding commitment to fostering international understanding and the union of Europe. At the same time we want to encourage and motivate these young people to continue to champion these ideals.

The sum donated for the prize is € 5.000. This amount is intended to finance a six-month practical traineeship with a Member of the European Parliament or another European institution. It is also possible to use the sum to finance a project which promotes European integration. Such a project must further the aims of the Schwarzkopf Foundation and receive the agreement of the Foundation’s Management board in order to be accepted.

If you know a young person who fits the bill then please fill in the enclosed nomination form and send it to:

Schwarzkopf-Stiftung Junges Europa,
Sophienstraße 28-29, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Online:  http://polls.eyp.org/young-european-of-year-nomination-form
The deadline for submissions is 30 October 2014.

The Schwarzkopf Foundation will approach the candidate und take his or her nomination into the decision process.

The award-winner will be chosen by a jury of personalities from the European Youth Parliament, the European Parliament, the European Commission and the Schwarzkopf Young Europe Foundation.

Together with the team of the Schwarzkopf Foundation, we are looking forward to receiving many nominations!